Significant Places in the Passion of Christ that You Can Still Visit

Here are some of the actual sites, or what remains of them.
by | March 24, 2016

For believers, the Passion of Christ is the truest, grandest expression of love. Through God’s will, Jesus Christ sacrificed his life for the salvation of human kind. This happened thousands of years ago, but Christians around the world commemorate this beautiful event up to this day.

As you reflect this Holy Week, look back at the struggle of Christ to save our sins. From His agony in the garden to His final resting place, take a look at current pictures of the significant places in the Passion of Christ.

Garden of Gethsemane

Passion 1

Passion 2

After the Last Supper, Jesus Christ and the apostles went to the Garden of Gethsemane to pray for what’s about to come. “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me.” These where Jesus Christ’s troubled words to the apostles.

They prayed for almost the entire night. They were only interrupted by the Roman guards sent by the betrayer, Judas. Jesus was arrested in the Garden of Gethsemane. This iconic garden is located at the Mount of Olives, Jerusalem.

King Herod’s Palace

Passion 3

Passion 4

The Roman guards then brought Jesus Christ to King Herod’s palace. This is where the people gathered in front of Pontius Pilate and King Herod, demanding for the crucifixion of Jesus. Pontius Pilate didn’t agree with them, pointing out the lack of basis of their claims. But he eventually gave in to their demands, washed his hands clean, and awfully sentenced Jesus of committing blasphemy.

The remains of King Herod’s palace is located near the Tower of David Museum in Jerusalem. Archeologists supported by the Israeli government were the ones who uncovered the site of Jesus’ trial.

Via Dolorosa

Passion 5

Passion 6

From King Herod’s palace, Jesus carried His cross through the streets of Via Dolorosa.  This street is within the old city of Jerusalem, and it’s now marked by the nine Stations of the Cross.  Aptly-named, Via Dolorosa is Latin for way of suffering. It’s now a popular route for tourists who want a closer look at Jesus’ struggle.

Mount Calvary

Passion 7

Passion 8

Jesus Christ carried His cross to Mount Calvary, also known as Golgotha or the place of a skull. This mountain is just outside the walls of Jerusalem. This is where Roman guards nailed Jesus to a cross and mounted Him up beside two criminals. People watched and mocked the crucified son of God. With His last few breaths, He called to God, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.”

Church of the Holy Sepulcher


Passion 9

When Jesus died, He was brought to a tomb. On the third day, He rose from the dead and He was found missing from the tomb. This miraculous spot is where the Church of the Holy Sepulcher stands today. It’s also located in Mount Calvary, a hill just outside Jerusalem.

Despite being destroyed three times by Romans, Persians, and then Turks, believers continuously rebuilt the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. The Church endured all those attacks, and it stands strong today, containing some remnants of the original 4th century Church. Pilgrims from all over the world flock to this Church to pray and feel the strong presence of the Lord. The Church of the Holy Sepulcher is definitely a must-visit for all devotees.

Got anything to add to this story? Sound off below!

Shen Mascariñas travels mainly for the unique food each destination offers and for the "I'm on vacation" free pass to pig out.

Post a Comment