PH Lifts Travel Ban for 10 Countries Including UAE and India

New categories for countries are also introduced.
by | September 07, 2021

Amid recording 20,000 daily cases and a surge in confirmed COVID-19 cases due to the Delta variant, the Philippines opens its borders to 10 countries including India and the UAE beginning September 6.


Lifted inbound travel restrictions

On September 4, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque announced that the government will lift its inbound travel restrictions beginning Monday, September 6, 2021 to the following countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • United Arab Emirates

These countries were formerly listed as high-risk countries due to rising COVID-19 cases. Inbound travelers from these countries shall still comply with entry, testing, and quarantine protocols upon entry to the Philippines.


New categorization

Aside from the lifting of travel restrictions to 10 countries, the Malacañang also announced two new listings in categorizing countries, in addition to the existing list of Green countries. These are based on the disease incidence rate of each country.


Yellow List

According to IATF-EID Resolution No. 136, “Yellow List” countries/jurisdictions/territories are classified as “Moderate Risk” based on the following metrics:

  • Populations greater than 100,00, the rate (cumulative new cases over the past 28 days per 100,000 population) shall be 50 to 500
  • Populations greater than 100,000, the COVID-19 case counts shall be 50 to 500


Red List

“Red List” countries/jurisdictions/territories are those classified as “High Risk” based on the following metrics:

  • Populations greater than 100,000 shall have an incident rate of more than 500
  • Populations less than 100,000 shall have an incident rate of more than 500

Travelers from this category shall not be allowed entry to any port of the Philippines, except returning Filipinos via government-initiated repatriation, non-government initiated repatriation, and Bayanihan Flights.

Inbound travelers from both Yellow and Red list countries are required to undergo a 14-day quarantine upon arrival in the Philippines while travelers from Green countries are only required to undergo a 7-day quarantine.


Who may enter the Philippines?

Traveling to the Philippines from abroad? The following are eligible to enter the country:

  • Filipino nationals
  • Non-Filipino/Foreign spouse and children or children with special needs of a Filipino national
  • Non-Filipino/Foreign parent of a minor child (below 18 years old) or a child with special needs, regardless of age
  • Former Filipinos under Balikbayan Program and Dual Citizens
  • Spouse/children of Former Filipino Nationals (Balikbayan Program)
  • Accredited foreign government and international organization officials and their dependents
  • Non-Filipino/Foreign seafarers with 9c visa
  • Non-Filipino/Foreign nationals in possession of valid certificates
  • Non-Filipino/Foreign nationals with an eligible visa
  • Investors granted with Special Investor’s Lane Authority

SOURCE: Philippine Airlines


As of writing, the Philippines has recorded over 2 million confirmed COVID-19 cases with 22,415 new cases, a new record high, on September 6, 2021. 

When she’s not writing, Ina’s busy curating playlists that will save her when words don’t work, reading, annoying her cat, or thinking of her next meal.

Post a Comment